How to use RX Connect with Merging Pyramix

April 29, 2016

The RX Connect plug-in sends a clip, or multiple clips, to the RX standalone application for editing and repair. This gives you access to all of RX's modules in one place, and provides the benefits of RX's offline processing and visual interface.

To edit audio from Merging Pyramix

 in RX Audio Editor:

  1. Select a clip in the Pyramix timeline. Remember that RX can only handle one or two tracks at a time.
  2. Open the Project menu and select Render.
  3. In the Render dialog, give the selection a file name, specify a destination folder to save your work, and select WAVE for the format. Then select Effects Rack and click Render.
  4. Wait for the Effects Rack window to open, then select "Load FX" in an open slot, and load RX Connect. If the RX Connect window does not open, click on "Show" by the instance in the Effects Rack.
  5. In the RX Connect window, select whether you are sending the clip for Reference or Repair.
  6. Press "Process", at the bottom of the main FxRack window to send the clip to the RX application. The RX Connect and the FxRack windows will close and RX should launch - if it is already running, you will have to switch from Pyramix to RX manually.
  7. Your Repair clip will appear in RX in a blue tab. Make the changes you need in RX and then click 'Send Back' in the blue tab, or press Ctrl-Enter to send your repairs back to RX Connect. A window will appear telling you that it is waiting for RX Connect, and that you should reopen RX Connect in your host.
  8. Manually switch back to Pyramix, go to Project > Render, and click Render again. The RX Connect Plug-in should still be in the Effects Rack. Click on the "Show" button next to that instance to reopen the Connect window.
  9. When the Connect plug-in UI shows a blue waveform and is ready to commit changes, proceed by clicking on "Process" in the main FxRack window to incorporate your changes into the Pyramix Timeline at your selected spot. If you've changed your mind, you can trash the contents by clicking on the trashcan icon.
  10. If you like, you can go back to RX to save your work in its own .rxdoc or audio file, or just close the Blue tab to clear it out of RX's cache.

©Copyright 2001-2018, iZotope, Inc. All Rights reserved.
License Agreement | Privacy Policy